about YOUSUIEN

Yousuien dates back to the Muromachi era (1338 - 1573). The site of the present Yousuien was the residence of Mitsumoto Hosokawa, a top-ranking warlord under the Ashikaga Shogunate in the 15th century. The residence was built in 1405 using the remained building materials of Kinkaku, Glolden Pavilion. After Mitsumoto Hosokawa’s death in 1426, it became a temple called Gansuin. In 1610, this site was restored to the original owner, Gotoh family, by Ieyasu Tokugawa, the first shogun of the Tokugawa shogunate. Yousuien was built by Chojo Goto, the second son of Goto family known for metal working especially for sword/ blade making, with supports from Toshiie Maeda, a Japanese daimyo who was the second head of the Kaga Domain, and Kobori Enshu, a renowned tea master and garden architect.
The Yousuien incorporates the "Chisen-Kaiyushiki-Teien" style (with a garden built around a pond), a popular Japanese garden style in Edo period. Visitors can stroll around the pond, enjoying the natural beauty of the season. In the garden, you can enjoy white camellias called "Gisetsu" in winter, cherry blossoms and a bamboo grove in spring, crape myrtles and water lilies in summer, and beautifully colored leaves in autumn.